"Automatic selection of the fastest algorithm implementations"
Sidnev A.A. and Gergel V.P.

We propose an approach for the runtime prediction of distributed high-performance computation. This approach does not require experimentation on all target computer systems. The selection of an optimal algorithm is performed according to the asymptotic complexity of the algorithms under evaluation using machine learning methods. The proposed approach can significantly reduce the number of experiments and the dimension of the problems to be solved during the process of evaluating the performance of a computer system. The evaluation of algorithm execution time based on the known parameters of the system allows determining the computer system efficiency for solving certain classes of problems without performing experiments on it. This allows one to quickly update the forecast by a minimum number of experiments with small-size tasks on the target computer system. The proposed solution can be used for the automatic library turning before using it (like the autosetting in the ATLAS (Automatically Tuned Linear Algebra Software) library. A comparative analysis of runtime prediction results obtained when solving several problems on 84 computers is given. The use of a random forest combined with the linear least square method shows the average relative error of the estimated execution time 17% for the training data corresponding to the problems of small dimension and the average relative error 9% when training was performed on data from the entire range of algorithm parameters in the test samples. The resulting estimates allow one to select the most efficient implementation of the algorithm in more than 80% of cases.

Keywords: selection of algorithm implementation, program running time, asymptotic estimates of complexity, characteristics of computing systems, machine learning, regression analysis.

  • Sidnev A.A. – Lobachevsky State University of Nizhni Novgorod, Faculty of Computational Mathematics and Cybernetics; prospekt Gagarina 23, Nizhni Novgorod, 603950, Russia; Assistant, e-mail: sidnev@vmk.unn.ru
  • Gergel V.P. – Lobachevsky State University of Nizhni Novgorod, Faculty of Computational Mathematics and Cybernetics; prospekt Gagarina 23, Nizhni Novgorod, 603950, Russia; Dean of Faculty, Dr. Sci., Professor, e-mail: gergel@unn.ru

Автоматический выбор наиболее эффективных реализаций алгоритмов
Сиднев А.А., Гергель В.П.

Предложен подход к прогнозированию времени распределенных высокопроизводительных вычислений, не требующий проведения экспериментов на всех целевых вычислительных системах. Выбор оптимального алгоритма производится по информации об асимптотической сложности оцениваемых алгоритмов на основе использования методов машинного обучения. Предложенный в работе подход позволяет значительно сократить как количество экспериментов, так и размерность задач, которые решаются при оценке производительности вычислительной системы. Оценка времени выполнения алгоритмов по параметрам вычислительной системы позволяет определить, насколько вычислительная система эффективна при решении определенного класса задач без проведения экспериментов на ней. Возможно быстрое уточнение прогноза по минимальному числу экспериментов с малоразмерными задачами на целевой вычислительной системе. Предложенное решение может применяться и при автоматической настройке библиотеки перед ее использованием (подобно автоматической настройке в библиотеке ATLAS (Automatically Tuned Linear Algebra Software)). Выполнен сравнительный анализ результатов предсказания времени решения ряда задач на 84 вычислительных системах. Использование случайного леса в сочетании с методом наименьших квадратов показывает, что средняя относительная ошибка оценки времени выполнения составляет 17% при обучении на данных, соответствующих задачам малой размерности, и 9% при обучении на данных из всего диапазона изменения параметров алгоритма тестовой выборки. Полученные оценки позволяют выполнять выбор наиболее эффективной реализации алгоритма более чем в 80% случаев, а потери времени от ошибочного выбора не превосходят 6%.

Ключевые слова: выбор реализации алгоритма, время выполнения программ, асимптотические оценки сложности, характеристики вычислительных систем, машинное обучение, восстановление регрессии.

Название статьи, аннотация и ключевые слова на английском языке

  • Сиднев А.А. – Нижегородский государственный университет им. Н.И. Лобачевского, факультет вычислительной математики и кибернетики, просп. Гагарина, д. 23, 603950, г. Нижний Новгород; ассистент, e-mail: sidnev@vmk.unn.ru
  • Гергель В.П. – Нижегородский государственный университет им. Н.И. Лобачевского, факультет вычислительной математики и кибернетики, просп. Гагарина, д. 23, 603950, г. Нижний Новгород; декан, профессор, e-mail: gergel@unn.ru