"Methods of text fragment relevance estimation based on the topic model analysis in the text summarization problem"
Mashechkin I.V., Petrovskiy M.I., Tsarev D.V.

The most state of the art methods of text fragment relevance (significance, importance) estimation based on the topic model analysis are considered. These methods are used for building summaries in the form of generic extracts, i.e., the summaries completely consisting of word fragments copied from an original document. The most popular text mining topic models are considered: the models based on the latent semantic analysis (LSA) and the probabilistic topic models, such as the probabilistic latent semantic analysis (PLSA) and the latent Dirichlet allocation (LDA). A new method of text fragment relevance estimation is proposed. The proposed sentence relevance estimation is based on the normalization of the non-negative matrix factorization (NMF) topic space and on the further weighting of each topic using the sentences representation in the topic space. The non-negative matrix factorization is used as a matrix decomposition in the latent semantic analysis model. A number of experiments performed with the considered methods of text fragment relevance estimation show the superiority of methods based on the latent semantic analysis over the probabilistic topic models in single document summarization problems. The DUC 2001 and DUC 2002 standard datasets with the ROUGE standard metrics are used in the comparative experiments. In addition, the proposed method shows a better summarization quality than the other considered text summarization methods. The work was supported by the Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation (state contract no. 14.514.11.4016) and by the Russian Foundation for Basic Research (project nos. 11–07–00616 and 12–07–00585).

Keywords: text fragment relevance, automatic text summarization, semantic text models, topic models, latent semantic analysis (LSA), singular value decomposition (SVD), non-negative matrix factorization (NMF), probabilistic topic models, probabilistic latent semantic analysis (PLSA), latent Dirichlet allocation (LDA)

Mashechkin I.V., e-mail: mash@cs.msu.su;   Petrovskiy M.I., e-mail: michael@cs.msu.su;   Tsarev D.V., e-mail: tsarev@mlab.cs.msu.su – Moscow State University, Faculty of Computational Mathematics and Cybernetics; Leninskiye Gory 1-52, Moscow, 119991, Russia

Методы вычисления релевантности фрагментов текста на основе тематических моделей в задаче автоматического аннотирования
Машечкин И.В., Петровский М.И., Царёв Д.В.

Рассмотрены наиболее актуальные методы вычисления релевантности (значимости) фрагментов текста на основе анализа тематических моделей для последующего построения аннотаций в форме выдержек, т.е. аннотаций, полностью состоящих из последовательности фрагментов исходного текста. В качестве тематических моделей выбраны популярные модели семантики документов и коллекции документов, используемые в задачах анализа текстовой информации: модели, основанные на латентно-семантическом анализе, модель вероятностного латентно-семантического анализа и модель скрытого распределения Дирихле. Предложен новый метод вычисления релевантности фрагментов текста, основанный на оценке весов тематик в нормализованном пространстве тематик, получаемом с помощью факторизации неотрицательных матриц, которая используется в качестве матричного разложения в модели латентно-семантического анализа. Эксперименты, проведенные с использованием методов автоматического аннотирования на эталонных тестовых наборах DUC 2001 и DUC 2002 на основе стандартных метрик оценки качества аннотаций ROUGE, показали превосходство методов вычисления релевантности фрагментов текста, основанных на латентно-семантическом анализе, по сравнению с методами, основанными на вероятностных тематических моделях, по качеству получаемых аннотаций. Приведены результаты тестирования, показывающие, что предложенный метод вычисления релевантности фрагментов текста, использующий факторизацию неотрицательных матриц для тематического моделирования, дает лучшие результаты по сравнению со всеми рассмотренными методами. Работа выполнена в рамках государственного контракта № 14.514.11.4016 и при поддержке РФФИ (проекты 11–07–00616 и 12–07–00585).

Ключевые слова: релевантность фрагментов текста, автоматическое аннотирование, семантические модели текста, тематические модели, латентно-семантический анализ, сингулярное разложение, факторизация неотрицательных матриц, вероятностные тематические модели, вероятностный латентно-семантический анализ, скрытое распределение Дирихле.

Название статьи, аннотация и ключевые слова на английском языке

Машечкин И.В., профессор, e-mail: mash@cs.msu.su;   Петровский М.И., доцент, e-mail: michael@cs.msu.su;   Царёв Д.В., математик, e-mail: tsarev@mlab.cs.msu.su – Московский государственный университет им. М.В. Ломоносова, факультет вычислительной математики и кибернетики, Ленинские горы, д. 1, стр. 52, 119991, Москва